“Because No One Else Will” – #8Sunday 08/06/17

I’m back (finally)! I’m not ashamed to admit that it’s been a while since the last story post. Let me think of something to blame for that. Uhh, I’ve been trying to make a lot of progress on my book lately (no, I only average 500 words a day if I’m lucky). Um, I’m tired! Yeah, we’ll go with that.

To get everyone (including myself) back on track with these posts, let’s kick things off with a random snippet (don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten about Johanan). If you missed the last post, you can check it out here to get up to speed: “Not Training Anymore”. And if these snippet posts seem pretty cool, hop over to Weekend Writing Warriors for all the info you need on their writing events and how to get involved. Of course, feedback on these posts is always appreciated; let me know what you think!


“Every time you surprise us, we rise again. You never quit, even though our demise is only… wishful thinking. You keep. Coming. Back. Why?”

Cal shifted under the charred beam and groaned in pain. “Because no one else will!”

A gunshot rang in his ears as Tulen gasped and dropped to his knees holding his stomach. Cal pulled the pistol he’d been laying on out in front of him, and seeing that it was now empty, threw it into the raging fire beside him.


Previous post: Ponderings – “Winds of Change”

Image by Unsplash on Pixabay

24 thoughts on ““Because No One Else Will” – #8Sunday 08/06/17

Leave a Reply

