200 Followers!

When I started Jake’sJournal a little over a year ago, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do with it, what my goal for the site was (I still don’t really know, and I doubt I ever will haha). I remember publishing my first post, “What are you grateful for?”, and for the first few days… nothing happened.

No views, no likes, no follows.

I guess I was expecting for that post to go viral overnight, for me to instantly become famous from a 463-word post on WordPress about being grateful.

I didn’t know the first thing about how to properly tag a post, how to assign posts to categories, add featured images to posts. I simply wrote and figured I’d be famous by the next morning.

To my dismay, I wasn’t famous. (And in case you’re wondering, I’m still not.)

Then, I saw a notification pop up on my phone. Someone had liked my post! I scrambled to pull up my site’s stats and saw that, sure enough, I had one view and one visitor for the day.

Yep, I thought to myself. This is what it feels like to be famous.

audience-868074_1920

What that meant was that someone had taken the time to not only read my post, but also express their enjoyment of said post with the click of a like button, and while it seems pretty commonplace these days, it meant the world to me back then (and still does).

So I posted again, and again, and again, posting once a week if I was lucky, but slowly getting the hang of things. I learned what a tag was, how to put a post into a category, what the heck a featured image is. I wrote about whatever popped into my head, whatever topic I found to be interesting or inspirational in some way.

Now, almost 100 posts later (keep your eye out for a 100th blog post special in a few days!), I look back at Jake’sJournal and realize how much not only it’s changed, but how I’ve changed. I don’t write the same way I used to, yeah, sure, but it’s more than that.

With every person that stopped by my site, every person that left a comment or clicked that “follow” button, I learned a little more about the community that makes up WordPress and how each person has something to say, some valuable piece of information or advice that I would’ve never learned if I hadn’t started blogging over a year ago.

My goal for Jake’sJournal was never for it to become super popular, and I didn’t launch the site with the intent of becoming famous (but I wouldn’t complain if that happened). I write simply for others to hopefully take a step back and look at the world around them. See what questions they should ask about it, and see how they can change it for the better. Or at the very least, my posts serve as a form of entertainment, something to take someone’s mind off of the daily stresses of life, even if only for a few minutes.

So I guess that’s my goal for Jake’sJournal. The content might change, the title will probably change at some point once I actually think of something a little more creative, but the underlying message will always remain.

So to anyone who either happens to stumble across this post as an introduction to my site or is a loyal reader, thank you. This site, this journal, this collection of thoughts and stories, would never be at where it is today without you. And make sure to stick around! It’s only gonna get better from here.


Image by Free-Photos on Pixabay

Featured image by Pexels on Pixabay

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “200 Followers!

Leave a Reply

