If Time Isn’t Real, Why Do We Still Never Have Enough?

“Time is a created thing. To say ‘I don’t have time’ is like saying ‘I don’t want to’.” – Unknown

Finally a quote that I… really don’t understand.

We’ve all heard of how “time is just an illusion” and how it’s not really “real”, how it’s nothing more than a figment of our imagination. Though while that might be true, it definitely feels real.

Putting those fluctuating numbers on your phone and hands on your clock aside, isn’t time something that we can feel? I don’t know about you, but when I go to bed it’s dark out, and when I wake up it’s bright (though I guess you could call that the Earth’s rotation on its axis. To each his own.). And I’m pretty sure that I’m a little older than I was a few years ago. It’s one of those timeless (see what I did there?), existential topics that I really don’t feel like getting into at 11:50 at night. I probably wouldn’t even know what I’m talking about. And I’ve got a feeling like whoever made this bold claim didn’t really know either.

So instead I’m gonna focus on what message the speaker was trying to convey. I think they were saying this: to use the excuse that you don’t have enough time to do something is futile and useless; it’s basically a nice way of saying “I don’t feel like it”.

That’s true. To a certain extent. I know we’ve all said that at some point and not really meant it- I do it all the time. It’s often easier to make up an excuse in an attempt to spare someone’s feelings rather than simply tell them how you feel. Humans are strange like that.

Now at the same time, it’s not always a made-up excuse. There can always be truth to something, and that applies to this case.

In my post “You Can Sleep When You’re Dead”, I talked about how there’s so much to do in this life, and that we should be striving to do as much as we can. But of course, you can’t do it ALL (I mean, be my guest and try, that’d make for an awesome book).

We’re busy, like all the time, and sometimes we truly don’t have enough time to do whatever it is that someone is requesting of us. So to say that using the excuse “I don’t have enough time” is selfish or ignorant is a selfish and ignorant claim in itself- it’s an assumption that anyone who uses the excuse is simply lying to avoid obligations and commitments, when really they may be totally telling the truth.

I know I just skipped right over the first part of this quote but it messed me up, and seeing how it’s now 12:35 in the morning as I write this, I’m definitely not in the right state of mind to even entertain the idea of trying to analyze how time is nothing more than a complex system of numbers and subsequent dates created by humans. I’m not even going to pretend that I know the first thing about the subject.

So I’ll turn it over to you. This’ll be a two-part question. 1.) Do you believe that time is nothing more than a figment of our imagination, that it doesn’t truly exist? And 2.) Is the excuse “I don’t have time” a valid one, or dishonest one?

Image from sevgi001453d on Pixabay

 

6 thoughts on “If Time Isn’t Real, Why Do We Still Never Have Enough?

  1. Two questions…well. Of course we had to make up TIME in order to get things done. In the old days, people referred to day and night and could only work while there was daylight. Up north they still stay awake the whole summer and they sleep during winter time…almost.
    When I was a child, I used to let go of my watch during the summer vacation. I followed the sun…and my stomach. I went home to eat when I was hungry and home to sleep when I was tired. Perfect relaxation – give it a try if you can. It gives your life a new dimension.

    And, I believe it is perfectly OK to say you do not have time – simply because you have fooled yourself to believe you really do not have time…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep I remember when I used to do the same things when I was a little kid. You summed it up perfectly: “I followed the sun… and my stomach” haha. That IS perfect relaxation, and unfortunately as we get older it seems harder and harder to take off the watch and just relax. Like we can’t quite find enough time. Maybe we’re ALL fooling ourselves into thinking we never have enough time. Interesting take on the subject Leya

      Like

  2. As for me, guys, I don’t spend a lot of time fretting about stuff. I work on improving this person who is me; taking care of me since I’m the only one who will and try to put my thoughts together to write because I have a hurdle to overcome now and, damn it, I plan to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve often thought about this, often when playing music. The three components of music are melody, harmony, and rhythm. Melody is a sequence of sounds, and that sequence requires time. Harmony requires that notes come together at the proper time; if you throw a Db in the middle of a C major chord, the harmony is ruined. Rhythm obviously depends on time. That’s all it is, really, is thumps occurring at a particular time.

    So if time’s an illusion, so is music. So is life, which requires a sequence of birth/life/death. Without time, nothing exists. No matter what physicists say, time is real TO US, and the hints in physics that it isn’t are, perhaps, God’s way of asking us “What is the sound of one hand clapping?”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a really interesting way to look at it Ed. While time may not be some tangible item or have a physical presence, it’s still REAL and, as you said, truly shapes our entire existence. It’s always going to be one of those topics up for debate, but in my opinion I feel that time is a determining factor of life, something that has to exist in order for everything else we know to exist. Awesome insight, thanks Ed

      Like

Leave a Reply

