You Can Sleep When You’re Dead

OK, that’s a figure of speech; don’t literally stop sleeping. But hear me out.

One of the great existential questions of life that goes unanswered to this day is this: what is the purpose of life? Like the famous “What happens when we die?” question, it goes unanswered simply because there isn’t one. Not a definitive one at least. It’s subjective, open to interpretation. There’s no real way of knowing. Everyone has their own answer, from those scholars from hundreds of years ago who first posed the question then probably drove themselves crazy trying to answer it, to you and I. So for that reason, here’s mine.

This Earth we’re on is big. Like a radius of 3,959 miles big. And there’s a lot going on. With about 7.5 billion people, there’s always something happening. 196 countries, about 4,416 cities, over 12,000 miles of coastline and about 417 national parks in the U.S. alone, an estimated 15,000,000 restaurants (according to statistics from TheWebMiner Blog), over 55,000 museums (according to ICOM, the International Council of Museums), over 10,000 zoos (according to AZA, the American Zoo and Aquarium Association). I could go on.

Here’s the point I’m making. There’s so much to do. So many places to explore, foods to eat, performances to watch, trails to hike, roller coasters to ride, roads to travel, museums to peruse, sports to play, books to read, people to meet, cultures to experience. I can confirm this; being a child of a member of the U.S. military has its perks, including living in and touring twelve different countries. I’ve seen and done a lot, and I’m fortunate enough to be able to say that.

Yet at the same time, I realize that I’ve only seen a fraction of it all, I’ve only scraped the surface of what this world has to offer. It’s crazy to think about just how enormous this Earth is, and almost daunting to think about how many people share it.

With so much to do and so little time to do it all, the purpose of life, the whole reason as to why we’re all here in the first place, is pretty clear to me. To live. To get out there, to do as much as you can with your time. Setting all religious views and beliefs aside, I feel like it’s our duty to explore this Earth and experience everything it has to offer. I think that in doing so, we’re able to truly appreciate this huge, green and blue oblate spheroid flying around the Sun at 67,000 mph.

So when I say “you can sleep when you’re dead”, I don’t mean don’t sleep. That can’t be healthy. What I mean is that I’m sure you’ll have plenty of time to lay around and do nothing when you’re gone. So until then, I implore you to do as much as you can (while finding some time to sleep of course).

So to wrap it all up, I’ll leave you with a question. Why do you think we’re here? 

Image by qimono on Pixabay

 

3 thoughts on “You Can Sleep When You’re Dead

Leave a Reply

