#8Sunday 05/7/17 WeWriWa Entry: “Port”

Pirates. There’s something about these swindling sea dogs that’s infinitely fascinating. Though they weren’t law-abiding citizens by any stretch of the imagination, there’s still something admirable about their carefree (or should I say reckless) and self-governing lifestyles that sometimes makes me wish I’d sailed the 17th century seas with them. But I’ll try to digress.

For this week’s entry, I’m taking a brief break from Johanan’s series of unfortunate events and diving into the golden age of piracy, set during the years of about 1650 to 1730. This snippet is an excerpt from a new piece I’m working on which is a big shift from the medieval times of Johanan and his fellow knights. If you missed my last entry, you can find it here: “Dread”. And of course, if you’ve taken an interest in these weekly snippets (why wouldn’t you?) and want to join in on the fun, you need only hop on over to Weekend Writing Warriors for every bit of info you could possibly need on their writing events. Here’s my snippet for this Sunday:

“Lights ahead Cap’n, ’bout three knots off!”

The proclamation soared from the bridge three stories above the crew’s heads. Captain Craylar abandoned his position at the helm and strode over to stand beneath the bridge where a silver spyglass fell into his hands. Raising the instrument to his eyes, he confirmed the presence of several specks of light piercing the evening’s persistent fog. Though not evident by the gentle waves around them, a strong gust of trade wind propelled them forward.

“Bring her to half sail!” Craylar shouted to the men around him. “Pravencia’s dead ahead lads!”

The vessel coasted across the black Atlantic waters for a few miles until its sails were drawn up and anchor dropped at Pravencia’s port, which stretched outwards from the small coastal town’s slice of Puerto Rico’s shoreline. As his crew ambled up the deserted dock, Craylar stood akimbo, admiring the ship…

Image by Unsplash on Pixabay

42 thoughts on “#8Sunday 05/7/17 WeWriWa Entry: “Port”

    1. That might have SOMETHING to do with it. It’s definitely got an enchanting quality to it though, I agree with you there. Thanks for stopping by Kimberly!

      Like

    1. Thanks, I tried to set up some kind of an ominous atmosphere for the men. I think the whole topic of piracy is extremely fascinating! Thanks for reading Jenna!

      Like

    1. Thanks Jessica, that’s huge coming from an already-established author such as yourself. I’m always striving to immerse readers into the story as best I can!

      Like

    1. Same here, like Pirates of the Caribbean (which I’m drawing a lot of inspiration from) has always been one of my favorite series! I’m glad you liked it, and there’ll definitely be more, no need to worry!

      Like

    1. Haha there’s something about pirates that makes everyone wish they were sailing the high seas! Thanks for reading and for the tweet, I really appreciate it!

      Like

  1. I LOVE pirate tales! My first completed book worthy of being sold (and second to be purchased) was swashbuckler and I’ve enjoyed sailing those adventurous seas several times since then. Can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! I think it’s such an interesting topic. I bet you had a blast writing it! I’d appreciate any tips and pieces of info you can share about the time period, because I’m still learning as much as I can currently. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Great snippet. You’ve set the scene so well my interest is piqued. What will happen when they land? What adventure lies ahead? Looking forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading Diane! I know, I’m sure I’ve set everyone up with a bunch of questions, and hopefully they’ll be answered soon. Stay tuned; we haven’t seen the last of these sea dogs yet!

      Like

    1. I figured it was a refreshing change of pace, and an intriguing one too. There’s SO much information and so many stories to sift through as well. Thanks for reading; I’ll be sure to continue soon!

      Like

  3. Fabulously written! I was easily swept into this scene, right along with Charmaine. At least there’ll be one other woman on board with me. lol. Great work! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So, I obviously have a thing for vampires, but second to that, I love me some pirates! So, I nearly jumped out of my seat when I saw your snippet was a pirate story πŸ™‚
    This was a fabulous snippet, too! I felt like I was watching it all take place. Cannot wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’ve noticed your thing for vampires by now haha. That’s awesome pirates is #2 on your list at least, I think it’s such an interesting time period and some even more interesting people roaming the seas. Thanks for the feedback, I’ll have more coming soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

