Finding Your Purpose In Life: It’s Not Easy

I feel like a lot of people don’t really know what they want to do with their lives. They haven’t found that spark of interest, their life’s calling.

That’s OK. It’s not easy.

I’m in the same boat. As a senior in high school going into my last month of school, I sometimes feel like I couldn’t possibly be more unprepared for the future. Every day I hear my peers’ proclamations of how they’re going away to huge schools whose names I’ve never heard of to attain degrees for careers I know nothing about. And… it’s discouraging.

So I’m undecided (luckily there’s a program for that offered at just about every educational institution- at least in the U.S.). While I plan on attending a local college for at least my first year and “getting my feet wet” in the whole college scene, I’m still not sure why I’m going in the first place.

I currently have two goals for myself as far as the future’s concerned: become an author (focusing primarily on fantasy fiction) and continue to grow this blog I’ve got going on. But I have yet to see any majors titled “Author” or “Blogger”- though feel free to correct me if I’m wrong 😉

I’ve always found it funny that throughout our lives we’re told to pursue our dreams, reach for the stars, only do that which makes us happy, yet no one ever spends any time actually preparing us for any kind of profession that doesn’t fit the “safe, secure, traditional” mold that both teachers and parents set for us. They spend an awful lot of time getting us excited about the future, but never bother to show us how exactly we’ll actually do any of the things our hearts long for.

Yet as my final year of school draws to a close and that surreal “wow, it’s all almost over” realization hits me, I’m not too worried about the future. Because another realization I’ve come to is this: yeah, a lot of people my age are going away to huge universities and colleges to study for awesome, well-paying careers, but that’s all them. Those are the paths that they have chosen, not me. Do I envy them and their whimsical speeches of their seemingly magical schools in faraway lands? A little- I won’t lie to you. But at the same time, I have to remind myself that my goals aren’t the same as theirs, that my future won’t be the same as theirs. And that’s OK.

You want to know what I think? I think that no matter where you are in life, no matter what situation you’re in, whatever path you took to get to where you are today, it’ll all be alright. The future might be a little uncertain right now, a little hazy, but I’d suggest not worrying so much. Life has a funny way of making everything turn out OK.

A lot of people get turned around down the road and get a little lost along the way, and that’s alright, because I’ve always found that when we’re desperately trying to find our way is when we truly find ourselves.

Image by schaeffler from Pixabay

 

5 thoughts on “Finding Your Purpose In Life: It’s Not Easy

  1. You’ve plenty of time to find your purpose in life — and if you’re like most of us, you’ll change your mind along the way. Thinking back, as I approached the end of university,I knew only a couple things: I wanted to marry my high school sweetheart, and I wanted to experience wilderness living in the British Columbia Interior. I’m still married to Judi, but I finally gave up on wilderness living after 18 years. I had no idea back then I wanted to be a writer — in fact, i turned to writing about the time I moved back to a city.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome to hear you married you high school sweetheart, and the wilderness living sounds like an amazing experience, that’s awesome. That’s true; I am only 18 and I most likely will change my mind at least once, so there’s a bit of reassurance there. Thanks Ed, that really does mean a lot, it helps clear my mind when it’s never been more cluttered before haha. This next chapter of my life starts with some big decisions, so I’ll take all the advice I can get, especially from someone who experienced it all already. Thanks again Ed, and it’s clear through your writing that such a career was a wise choice for you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

