#8Sunday 03/05/17 WeWriWa Entry: “Gap”

I recently stumbled across the site of Weekend Writing Warriors and their latest writing event for March 5th, 2017. The event involves posting an 8-10 sentence excerpt of a piece of work. To participate in this event or any in the future, simply click the link above to visit their site, where you’ll find writing and entry submission guidelines, a list of genre categories, other participants’ works, etc. I figured it’d be a nice change of pace for the weekend, so here’s my excerpt entry of one of my works I’m currently writing:

As I place a foot on the board, the wind suddenly picks up. I slowly swing my left foot in front, then my right, then my left.  I keep my stare fixed on my feet, trying not to notice the rotted holes in the wood or the sound of breaking splinters.

The wind’s really picked up by the time I’m halfway across, so much so that I have to stop occasionally to steady myself. “Careful!” Mark shouts, which is met with a “Relax, will ya?” from John.

I hear a voice, and it doesn’t belong to John or Mark, because it’s coming from in front of me. I look up to see two men staring back at me on the other side of the gap. They seem to be just as surprised as I am.

Guns are unholstered on either side of me and I’m suddenly terrified, not just at the fact that I’m in-between four barrels, but that our new friends control the situation. I realize I’ve got to do some negotiating, and fast.

Image by Unsplash  from Pixabay 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “#8Sunday 03/05/17 WeWriWa Entry: “Gap”

Leave a Reply

