Change

A lot of people want change.

A lot of people think about change.

A lot of people talk about change.

But how many people ever do?

How many people ever stop and realize that change isn’t something you wait for, something you wish for. It’s not something you can pray for, then open your eyes and be looking at a different life.

Change requires action.

Change requires being honest with yourself.

Change requires asking yourself “What don’t I like about my current situation, and what can I do to make things better?”

Because that’s what everyone wants, right? We want things to be better than they already are. Better job, better friends, better health, better relationships. But what does it take for us to realize that we can want all we want, but if we don’t take action, if we don’t start working towards making things better, we will always just be.. wanting.

Change is not easy. It’s even scary; a lot of people are scared of the word. They’d rather have things stay exactly the way they are than risk trying something different, something new. Why? I’m not sure. Maybe they don’t want to stand out, they’d rather “fit in”. Or maybe they know exactly what they want, but they also know the work involved, and it scares them away.

But change is necessary. If the things you’re doing in your life right now aren’t working for you, if they’re not pushing you a little closer to your goals every day, then change is necessary. If you’re feeling stuck, like I sometimes do, like so many people are right now, then change is necessary.

And it’s not easy, I assure you. But you don’t need me to tell you that. You’ve been wanting it forever. All you need to do is ask yourself “What needs changing?”

The rest is simple.

“Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.” – George Bernard Shaw

Image from Pixabay by tpsdave

 

 

7 thoughts on “Change

  1. This idea even inspires me. ‘
    The Change’ Even I have exactly the same ideas like you. This idea has even inspired me to write one poem on my blog. It’s just one of the inspirational topics you can choose. Great post, once again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, yet again, Jake! Keep ’em coming. And once again, the principles you talk about are very true. I’ve seen this a lot in my own life… wanting change but never doing anything about it. My husband and I now are making it a goal of ours to be doers rather than just talkers. We decided enough was enough 🙂 Another place I’ve seen this a lot is with some of the friends I get to work with at the homeless shelter here in town. Many of them talk of wanting a better life or desiring to make better choices, but often times they find themselves stuck in a rut of bad choices and negative outcomes. It immobilizes them, dragging them further into the cycle. But I remind them as I remind myself that change is necessary and it is vitally important to take steps (even baby ones) to figure out what needs changing. Thanks for sharing! Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Laura, thanks for dropping by! That’s great to hear you and your husband are deciding to make some changes of your own and practice what you preach, that’s something that I always try to do as well; I wouldn’t give advice on here that I didn’t also take myself. You’re right, these ruts we can get stuck in are vicious cycles that are usually hard to pull ourselves out of. It’s easy to not try and simply settle, but do it long enough and you’ll look back on your life one day and wonder what happened to all the dreams and goals you had that never became a reality. Change is hard, it’s scary, but definitely necessary in order to pull ourselves out of our ruts. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

