This World Is But A Canvas

The other day I was talking to a friend of mine over at writersatheart2k15 about art. Specifically, its seemingly numerous forms. See, when I think of art, I think of a painting, like the Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci, or a sculpture like The Thinker, by Auguste Rodin. After all, if you went to an art museum, for example, that’s what you’d expect to see.

As our conversation shifted to what types of music we liked, however, they remembered that music could be considered art too. And I found myself thinking “Yeah, I guess so. Art is supposed to make you feel a certain way, and music definitely does that to me.”

A few minutes later came another realization; this time it was writing. Again, I thought “Yeah, some works of art are so realistic and intricate that you feel you could step right through the portrait and into a whole other world. Reading others’ works has the same effect; books have a way of transporting you to different places.”

This went on for a few more minutes before I was convinced. By then we’d discussed how anything from architecture to even math could be considered art (we don’t see how math could have any kind of artistic quality at all, but then again our opinion is a little biased due to our hatred for the subject, so maybe you see it as art!) And just like that, my perspective for the world around me had changed once more.

I realized that the world itself is a work of art, a giant canvas, and each of us holds a brush. We each get to dip ours into whatever color paint we choose, and add our own stroke to it. We only get one stroke, though, but I think that’s all we need. We make some mistakes, we might draw some crooked lines here and there, but its abstract. This work of art is far from perfect, but then again, I’d like to see one that is. You’d be hard-pressed to find one.

Far from perfect, but certainly unique. That’s how I like to view this work of art we call home, and it’s how I view all of its artists. Take a look around you, and see the beauty in everyone’s strokes. They’re everywhere, in all different colors, shapes and sizes. And hopefully, it’ll inspire you to pick up your brush and add your stroke to the canvas.

“This world is but a canvas for our imagination.” – Henry David Thoreau

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “This World Is But A Canvas

  1. Very well articulated 🙂 each day I wake up and think about how my life can be used as “a paintbrush” to fill this world with beauty and color. It is so good to see the colors that others add to the world as well. It definitely makes for the best kind of masterpiece! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course, thanks for reading! It truly is a masterpiece, and everyone contributes with their own stroke, no matter how big or small. Art is all around us, in many different forms. But since it’s abstract, we need to take a step back, and maybe tilt our head a little to see the true beauty. But it’s there!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

