Need A Helping Hand? Ask For It!

This ties in to my last post, where I talked about how everyone could use a hand to help keep our boat from sinking. Now, a question needs to be answered: Are you asking for that helping hand? Our days can get swallowed up by work, deadlines, commitments, family matters; you name it, it’s on our list (I can’t write it all down ’cause it’s a preetty long one). With all those things going on, you’re also trying to find some time to relax and focus on yourself, and that’s not easy. Going it alone, as I’ve discovered myself, is hard. If I’m gonna juggle all these things at once, I’m gonna need some more hands to help.

But I feel that a lot of people don’t ask, even when they really need it.

That could be for a few different reasons. They might think that they’re bothering others by asking. If someone tells you that it does bother them, then why are you even still talking to them? Not everyone can drop everything and run to you to help, but someone that cares about you will make the time to do so. Your cry for help shouldn’t be a burden to them.

Or maybe some see asking for help as a sign of weakness.

That, I don’t understand. If anything, I see it as a sign of strength and humility, that you’re willing to admit that you can’t do everything on your own and that you’re not perfect. And that’s something everyone can relate to. We’re certainly not perfect, we all have our flaws, and asking for help shows that you’re not afraid of people seeing yours.

Like many things in life, asking for help is a skill that’s not easy to learn, but once mastered, is truly freeing. You don’t have to fight all of your battles alone. After all, who in history ever charged into battle by themselves?

“The strong individual is the one who asks for help when they need it.” – Rona Barrett

Image by user sasint on Pixabay

12 thoughts on “Need A Helping Hand? Ask For It!

  1. Well-written. 🙂
    I do come under the latter category that you mentioned. But that is in certain cases not all. I try to get out of a problem, all by myself first. And if still stuck with it, I do ask for help. But yes try to get away with it by myself, as far as possible. :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m like you, I usually attempt something by myself first, and if I find the challenge is too great for me to tackle alone, I’m not ashamed to ask for a little help. You need to find that balance of self-reliance and trust in others.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks for the kind words, maybe I’m just an old man stuck inside a 17 year-old’s body 😀. It is a great community, I’ve learned a lot since I started. Glad you liked the post; asking for help really is a sign of strength, not weakness.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely agree! The culture about helping or asking help from others has drastically changed over time. Due to several factors, the spirit of sharing, particularly with our human struggles, has dwindled. I was reminded of the adage: no man is an island. We were designed to work together. That’s part of our humanity and vital for our survival. Sad to say, most people tend to disregard that nowadays. Great post, Jake!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The culture really has changed, you’re right about that Andrei. I feel like it’s part of who we are to want to work together and help those in need of it, but some people try to deny that instinct we all have. I used to be one of those people; for some reason I felt like I could do everything on my own and felt too proud to ask for help, but it only made realize how much I actually needed some help! I don’t solely depend on others to get me through challenges or tough times, but sometimes we all need that helping hand to pull us up to the next step.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are absolutely right! Unfortunately, people at times have too much pride. But, lately since I have been talking about monetization, people have had some saddening comments. I think people are also scared of backlash. It’s crazy how things are now! Some people actually find it annoying. Like for example, people who are on government assistance often get looked down on. Why? Because a few abuse the system. So, because of that, everyone is. Hahaha! I’m sorry Jake😂! I’m going on and on! I’m so passionate about helping. Thanks for a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha you’ve got nothing to be sorry about, especially something you have a passion for. You’re right, it may be the way people are raised, it may be things that have happened to them in the past, but some people are too proud to ask for help. But I think we should be proud that we have the courage to accept the fact that we can’t do everything on our own. Yeah, I’ve seen some people’s comments on your monetization post, and I think that’s exactly what they’re fearing: that their loyal readers will suddenly run away at the first sight of monetization. But then they’re not loyal readers at all, are they? Glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great message here Jake, as always. I couldn’t agree more that the willingness to humble yourself and ask for help when you need it is a sign of strength. I feel the people who don’t ask for help is the equivalent of people who always refuse gifts others give to them. I feel there is some symbolic implications in that. Teamwork makes the dream work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it’s a lot like refusing people’s gifts; when people offer to help and truly care about us, we shouldn’t refuse it, but accept it with open arms. Asking for and accepting help shows that you’re aware of your imperfections but not afraid to show them to others, for they have their own as well. You’re right, teamwork is key; thanks James!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

