Veni, Vidi, Vici

Sometime in the year 47 BC, Julius Caesar wrote a letter to the Roman Senate telling of his recent victory over Pharnaces II of Pontus, known after as the Battle of Zela. In his letter he used the phrase “Veni, vidi, vici”, which is Latin for “I came, I saw, I conquered.” It’s a phrase used to refer to a swift and conclusive victory.

I like this phrase, and not just because it sounds cool to say. Caesar must’ve been pretty confident of his and his army’s abilities in battle, for he was outnumbered almost 2:1, with Pharnaces’s 20,000 men to his barely 11,000. It definitely must’ve taken a lot of courage to ride up to a force as large as that and still charge into battle.

Now before I sound too hypocritical due to my last post, I’ll admit that not every problem that arises can be dealt with smoothly and with little to no friction between parties. This is clear by the example above as well as by the wars being fought today. Yeah, sometimes there may not be any other way around them, and it can be for multiple reasons. But there is one thing problems, all problems, have in common: they require someone with the courage to face them if they’re to be solved.

Who knows what would’ve happened if Caesar had taken one look at Pharnaces and his army, saw that they were greatly outnumbered, and ordered all his men to retreat? (I sure don’t, I don’t know much about the time period and its conflicts). But I’m gonna guess that doing so wouldn’t have brought great results.

We don’t always have a say in the situations we’re put in, but we can decide how to deal with them. You’ll have plenty of obstacles that lay in your path, and it’s up to you to decide how you’ll get past them. When there’s no other way, when you’re outnumbered, you can raise your white flag and surrender. Or you can come, see, and conquer.

“Cowards die many times before their deaths; the valiant never taste of death but once” – Julius Caesar.

Image by user efrye on Pixabay

 

4 thoughts on “Veni, Vidi, Vici

  1. Hey Jake, very interesting post. I loved the historical example used to make present day value. May we all have the courage to face the problems in front of us to figure out the solution. Keep up the great work brother.

    Here’s a question for you though. If you have lunch to discuss anything with any person living or dead in all of human history who would you choose?

    – James

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey James, thanks for the encouragement, I appreciate it! Those little history lessons are something new I’m trying out on some of my posts, glad to see this one was well-received.

      I really had to think about this one, because that’s a LOT of people to choose from haha. But I think I’d have to say Confucius. I don’t know a lot about him, but from what I do know from research and multiple readings, he seemed to be a very wise man. Being a politician, teacher, an editor, and a philosopher, I’m sure he picked up a good bit of experience from life, and I’d love to sit down and learn a thing or two from him, both about the world and myself. I think he’s truly inspiring, especially for the numerous sayings he’s quoted for. Who would you choose?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great to hear Jake, sounds like a good pick. I’d probably have to go Jesus, figure who made such an impact on human history. I’d see what I could learn. Other than him I would select Napoleon and maybe even Bruce Lee. A pretty diverse 3 I know lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

